ID#: 15179
Description: Caption:
By Rob Gutro: NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.,

Hurricane Sandy (Atlantic Ocean)

“On Oct. 25 at 1425 UTC (10:25 a.m. EDT), NASA's TRMM satellite saw that rain associated with Hurricane Sandy storm's center, was moderate (in green and blue), and falling at a rate of 20 to 40 mm per hour. The heaviest rainfall at the time of this image was falling northeast of the center, at more than 2 inches/50 mm per hour (red). The Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite flew above hurricane Sandy on Friday, Oct. 26 at 1509 UTC (11:09 a.m. EDT), and gathered data on rainfall and cloud heights, revealing the power within this monster storm.”

High Resolution: Click here for hi-resolution image (3.18 MB)
Content Providers(s): CDC/ Rob Gutro/Hal Pierce/Marshall Shepherd
Creation Date: 2012
Photo Credit: SAI/NASA; Hal Pierce
Links: National Aeronautics and Space Administration, NASA – Hurricane Sandy (Atlantic Ocean)
Categories:
CDC Organization
Skip Navigation Links.

MeSH
Skip Navigation Links.
Copyright Restrictions: None - This image is in the public domain and thus free of any copyright restrictions. As a matter of courtesy we request that the content provider be credited and notified in any public or private usage of this image.